Dollar Store Recipes: Breakfast Scramble

As I was writing my post about grocery shopping at the 99 Cents Only Store, I realized I could do a series on recipes made almost exclusively from items bought at the 99.  I think many people may not realize how many great recipes could be made from these items.  I will do an estimate on how much each meal will cost.

So with all that said, Welcome to Dollar Store Decadence recipes, where we cook gorgeous food made with gems we find at the dollar store.  We shall start with a Breakfast Scramble made with sausage, eggs, cheese, onions and potatoes.  Everything except for the cheese was found at the 99.  So, here goes.

What you need:

10 oz. Farmer John Breakfast Sausage Roll

farmer-john-sausage

2 russet potatoes, diced

russet-potatoes

1/2 of one yellow onion, diced

yellow-onions

4 eggs

4_eggs

1/2 cup of shredded cheddar cheese

borden-cheddar

Salt & Pepper to taste

salt-and-pepper

Instructions:

  1. Cook and crumble the sausage in a skillet.  After it is done, remove and set to the side.
  2. While you are cooking your sausage you can either bake, deep fry, or pan fry your potatoes.  However you prefer them.  I deep fried mine with vegetable oil.  Set them aside when they are finished and add salt and pepper to taste.
  3. Cook your chopped onions in the skillet you just removed your sausage from.  Once they are soft, mix the sausage in with them and push the sausage/onion mixture to the side of the pan.
  4. Whisk the eggs together with salt and pepper.  You can add a splash of milk if you want but it’s not required.  Add the eggs to the other side of the pan with the sausage mixture.  Scramble the eggs.
  5. Once the eggs are scrambled, fold them into the sausage/onion mixture.  Once this is done, add the potatoes to the mixture and top with the cheese.

So, I didn’t know I was going to do this recipe post when I made the dish, so I only have one photo.  I will update this post with step by step photos the next time I cook this.  But here is a close-up of the finished product:

 

FullSizeRender.jpg

 

Okay so let’s break down price.  The sausage was 99¢.  The potatoes I will estimate at about 25¢ because I bought a 5lb bag of potatoes at the 99.   I also estimated the onion at 25¢ because you get a few onions in one bag for 99¢.  I used 4 eggs from a $1.89 dozen that I bought at the 99 as well, so we can at 63¢ for those.  Finally, the cheese came from another store I love, Gonzalez’s Northgate Market.  It was a bag of approximately 2 cups and it cost $2.79 so I did some basic math and came up with 69¢.  Now I’m not a mathematician so these numbers are not perfect okay?  But for a breakfast for four people this costs…hold on to your butts…$2.81!  Wow, now that is a good deal.  And it was delicious!

 

Leave a Reply

