Dollar Store Recipes: One Pot Burrito Bowl

Welcome back to Dollar Store Decadence recipes, where we cook gorgeous food made almost entirely with gems we find at the dollar store. This time I made a delicious dish:  burrito bowls. You only need one pot!  Amazing right?  So let’s get to it!  I bought everything at the 99 except for ground turkey, rice, green chiles and chili powder.  Rice and chili powder are staples at my place, so I wont factor them in for the final price.

What you need:

 

1 Yellow Onion

yellow-onions

1 Bell Pepper (any color)

bell-peppers-multi-colored

1lb Ground Turkey (or Beef)

ground-turkey

1 Cup Rice

rice-2

1/3 Cup of Salsa

thick-chunky-salsa-medium

1 15 oz can Corn (drained)

canned-corn

1 15oz can Diced Tomatoes

diced-tomatoes

1 8oz can Diced Green Chiles

diced-green-chiles

1 15 oz can Black Beans (rinsed and drained)

black-beans

1 packet Taco Seasoning

taco-seasoning-las-palmas

1/2 Teaspoon Chili Powder

chili-powder

2 Cups Chicken Broth

swanson-chicken-broth

Optional but super delish toppings:

Shredded Cheese

borden-cheddar

Sour Cream

sour-cream

Green Onions

green-onions

Lettuce

shredded-lettuce

Instructions:

  1. Sauté the onions and bell peppers in a little olive oil to your desired translucency.img_0746-2
  2. Add in the ground meat (I used Ground Turkey)and cook until it’s browned.img_0747-1
  3. After the turkey (or beef) is browned, add everything else in whatever order you choose, just dump it all in there! Rice,Salsa, Corn, Diced Tomatoes, Black Beans, Taco Seasoning, Chili Powder and Chicken Broth.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  1. Mix it well, bring it to a boil and then lower the heat, cover and let it simmer for 15-20 minutes or until the rice is fully cooked.

img_0756-2

Et voila! The Final Product.  I like to eat it with copious amounts of sour cream, cheese and green onions.

Cost:

Okay so let’s talk numbers.  This recipe feeds 8 peeps.  This one has a LOT of ingredients so bear with me! I get 4 onions in a bag at the 99.  25¢ for that one.  The ground turkey was $3.99.  I got the Bell Peppers 2/99¢ so we’ll calculate 50¢ for the one in the recipe.  The salsa was 99¢ and I used about half of the small jar.  50¢.  The corn, tomatoes, beans, corn and broth were 99¢ each.  The taco seasoning came from a 3-pack that was 99¢ so that’ll be 33¢.  Finally, the diced green chiles were $1.79.  That’s $12.31 to feed 8 people!  $1.54 per serving.  I like them odds!

Lastly, I just want to say that the photos I post of ingredients are so that you know what brand I’m using and so you know what brands you can find them at the dollar store.  I don’t get paid for posting anything, not that I’m opposed to being paid, but this is all for fun and I like doing it.

Anywho, try this recipe peeps!  It’s good and easy and cheap!

Leave a Reply

