Dollar Store Recipes: Korean Beef and Rice

Hey y’all hey!  So it’s been a little while since I made a recipe post, I graduated, I’m moving into a new apartment, yada yada yada and so basically what I’m saying is, a girl is busy these days.  I also still need to post photos from my graduation brunch too.  But fear not!  I’m back with a delicious and super duper easy recipe.  This is a good, easy, quick and cheap meal, just the way we like it.  As always, I got most of the ingredients from 99 Cents Only Store.  So without further ado, here is the recipe!

What you need:

1lb Ground Beef

ground-beef

1/2 Cup Brown Sugar

Brown-Sugar-Bowl

1/4 Cup Soy Sauce

soy_sauce

1 TBSP Sesame Oil

sesame oil

1 1/2 Tsp Minced Garlic

minced-garlic

1/4 Tsp Ground Ginger

ground-ginger

1/2 Tsp Crushed Red Pepper

chili-flakes-2

Salt and Pepper, to taste

salt-and-pepper

1 Cup Green Onions, diced

green-onions

Jasmine rice, cooked

rice-2

Instructions:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  1. Heat the sesame oil in a skillet, then add the ground beef and garlic.  Cook until the ground beef is fully browned and drain.
  2. Add brown sugar, soy sauce, ground ginger, red pepper to the beef, mixing well.
  3. Simmer until the sauce reduces a bit.
  4. Serve the beef over rice and sprinkle the green onions on top.
  5. Bam!  Now eat!

Let’s talk money, honey:

So the items I got from the 99 are as follows: brown sugar, soy sauce, minced garlic, crushed red pepper, green onions, rice

Brown sugar – 25¢

Soy Sauce- 50¢

Minced Garlic – 6¢

Crushed Red Pepper – 1¢

Green Onions – 50¢

Rice – 50¢

The other items were found at Stater Bros and are as follows:

Ground Beef – $2.99

Ground Ginger – 20¢

Sesame Oil – 40¢

I should probably do the breakdown of my math. I usually just divide the serving sizes and add them up based on the cost. Example:  There are 2 cups of brown sugar in the box, which I bought at the 99.  I used 1/2 cup for this recipe, which equals 25¢ (rounded up of course).  You would do the same for the others although it does get kinda hairy with the really small measurements like the ground ginger.

So the overall cost of this recipe is $5.41!  That’s a sweet price for a good and filling meal.  It serves 4, so the price per serving comes in at $1.35 per person!  Pow!  Anywho guys, try this and see how you like it.  I thought it was so easy and so good and next time I will double it just to have a bigger serving size.

Toodles!

Leave a Reply

